Guitars Hurt

Did you know that guitars are mean? It’s no wonder that people shred them. (Pun intended!)

IMG_0454

But seriously, this week of practicing has not been a rewarding experience. My chording fingers are raw and my sound hasn’t improved as much as I had hoped it would at this point. Some strings buzz, some thud, and a few ring the way they are supposed to. Check out the video to see what I mean.

This week I am most excited about learning how to cut the beginning and ending of my video before posting to YouTube! Say goodbye to awkward filming transitions. The hidden curriculum really is the most exciting part of learning.

8 thoughts on “Guitars Hurt

  1. All I can say is keep on going! You’ve got this. When I started learning guitar, the same thing happened, but then, like a child on the monkey bars, the calluses thickened and the nerve endings toughened up enough that it no longer hurt as bad. And you definitely sound like you are improving, by the way. Keep it up!

    Like

  2. I have heard that it can be a painful experience at the start. With a little more practice I’m sure it’ll subside and you’ll be able to rock those chords you’ve practicing!

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Keep up the great work, Sarah! The pain will be pay off, and honestly, I think it already is. You are sounding great for having just learned to play. You should be proud of all you have accomplished in such a short amount of time!

    Like

Comments are closed.