Rookie Sarah Wandy is called up from the Minors

After a brief stint in the Minors, Wandy is ready to step up, once again, to the challenge of Major League Ed. Tech. Today, she told fellow bloggers, “After my last Ed. Tech. class, the focus of which was Social Media, I spent most of my free time checking Twitter and Facebook. It had become a habit from trying to stay in touch with my classmates, and turned into a bit of an obsession.” Wandy said she needed to take herself out of the game for a while to find some balance: “I deleted the apps from my phone and tried to focus on what was happening around me in the moment. I felt so much more clear headed. I traveled, finished some knitting projects, practiced guitar, tried some new cheesecake recipes and took a class.”

 

However, Wandy knows that she can’t hide from Social Media forever, nor does she want to. “I’m ready to tackle online and blended learning with the help of my colleagues using social media and other meeting tools. This time, I’m going to focus on balance from the beginning, and find a way to make the most of what both online and face to face interactions have to offer. I know my students and family will appreciate these efforts.”

“find a way to make the most of what both online and face to face interactions have to offer”

Some of Wandy’s ECI 834 teammates have had similar experiences. Jannae Bridgeman also had a brief hiatus from the world of blogging and Twitter, but knows that the professional benefits of these tools will be worth the extra training time. Similarly, Aimee Sipple and Kelsey Lenihan are ready to join the Twitter conversation.

Fortunately, veterans like Logan Petlak and Katherine Koskie are willing to share some of their expertise with the newbies. Koskie: “Gotta expand that PLN.”

Wandy’s 3 Goals for this Season:

  • Become familiar enough with an online learning platform that I could easily design all classes in this way
  • Learn to use a new video-making/presentation program that I can use for my summary of learning. What are your suggestions?
  • Find a meaningful balance between digital and face to face interactions

You can follow Wandy’s progress on Twitter this season @WandySarah.

8 thoughts on “Rookie Sarah Wandy is called up from the Minors

  1. Great first post! And if balance is your goal, blended learning is definitely a good direction to look at.

    As for video and presentation tools, it all depends on what you’re looking for. Screencast-o-matic.com is great if you want to turn a presentation file into a video and talk over it, demonstrate things, do flipped classroom type things. Prezi allows audio additions now. You can embed videos in various platforms. Puppet Pals is pretty hilarious as an app to make little skits. iMovie even on an iPad is apparently great (I’m planning to try to do something with that this time).

    Good luck! It’ll be a good semester.

    Like

    1. I just jotted all those ideas down too. Thanks Kirsten. And thanks for the entertaining intro Sarah. I think I sat next to you in class last week in the “face-to-face” session as I will start to call it now. 😛

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Thanks for the video suggestions! I used iMovie for my last summary of learning and was really pleased with the final product. Certainly polished, but it took quite a bit longer to figure out than I thought it would. Just a heads up if you plan to use it this semester!

    Like

    1. I think that’s a fair head’s up with a lot of the options. Screencast-o-matic is very simple and user-friendly but there’s pretty much no editing. But I’ve run into that “wow this took a lot of time” myself with a couple things!

      Like

    2. We used iMovie last class for our summary of learning – it went well. Some areas that maybe were not as fluent as they could have been, but overall we were satisified

      Like

  3. I love the approach you took to your post, Sarah! You’ll be in the running for “Post of the Week”, I’m sure! Your first two goals are clear – and likely achievable. Goal number three is – and always will be – a struggle for me (and many other people!). Let me know if you find a way to succeed with that balance. Have a great semester!

    Liked by 1 person

  4. We used iMovie last class for our summary of learning – it went well. Some areas that maybe were not as fluent as they could have been, but overall we were satisified

    Like

Comments are closed.