Going Live!

I’m simultaneously excited and overwhelmed by the possibility of publishing my Music 9 module on Canvas. Mostly, I think my excitement about the possibility of moving all of my classes to a blended mode is making me overwhelmed.

I’m excited because:
  • I see how a blended classroom could completely transform the way that we offer music programming at Balfour.
  • It looks pretty great and all of the links work.
  • I’ve used new tools like Screencastify, Sampulator, and Google Forms which I will be able to use again in my teaching. Trying them for the first time takes away the scariness of using them in the future!
  • I’m happy with the quality of the videos that I made.
  • I am looking forward to feedback on what I’ve done so far.
  • I’m proud of taking on this challenge. I never thought I would be able to do something like this.
  • Once the work is done in developing the course the first time, it is easy to revise before using a second time. With each revision, the course will become better and better in a way that it might not without such an LMS.
I’m overwhelmed because:
  • I want to do this for ALL of my classes.
  • I know that it would take WAY too much time to do it well in all of them if I were to start immediately.
  • I know I will quit if I take on too much to start, and I don’t want that to happen.
  • Canvas will inevitably become obsolete and irrelevant, and then I will have to start over.

//giphy.com/embed/3oriOaivTEk4PotVEQ

via GIPHY

I know. That’s a bit of a Debbie Downer.

In this last week, I’ve polished the appearance of the module, revised instructions, made sure that links are working, shared with friends for feedback, and QUESTIONED ALL OF MY DECISIONS. As I said earlier, I’m happy with what I’ve done, but I’ve gained new skills and am more optimistic about my abilities to use technology, so I will do things differently in lessons moving forward. Like Adam, I am really pleased to have learned about screencasts.

I shared my course to Canvas’s Commons in the interest of open education. It made me nervous at first, but then I considered how much I appreciate it when I find that teachers have shared quality resources. (In fact, the image that I’ve included below was shared with no attribution required!) For some reason though, the course isn’t showing up in the commons, which is really disappointing! I’m still trying to figure this out.

I’ve used many online resources, and I think it’s time that I contribute!

Logistically, I’m really happy that my module is ready to go a week ahead of time. When I was going through the process of uploading videos and making sure that links worked, I experienced some hiccups (mostly to do with poor WiFi connections), and I’m glad that I’m not trying to sort this out moments before it is due. Elizabeth and Angela also noted that it is difficult to put all of the pieces together. This is worth considering when thinking ahead to using an LMS as a norm. I would always need to be working a few days ahead of the kids, and I’d need to have a back-up plan if students experience their own hiccups.

And I will keep moving forward. With one class to start. And then another. I need to keep taking baby steps before I’ll be off and running. I need to be patient with myself. It’s ok if I learn and develop slowly, as long as I continue to grow. I remember when planning a single lesson took hours, and now it’s a sinch! Eventually, I’ll be using technology as second nature.

Until then, like Nicole Marie suggests, I can reflect on this process and use that to become stronger moving forward.

9 thoughts on “Going Live!

  1. I understand what you’re saying about wanting to incorporate blended learning more into your teaching! When I first started reading I had decided my response would be to take it one step at a time and start small. You came to that conclusion by the end of your post which I thought was awesome! I also felt reassured that someone else was perfectly okay with being patient with themselves and taking this one step at a time. I am hoping that if I am lucky enough to stay teaching grade 2 next year, that I can make my science a blended course! Fingers crossed!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Changing teaching assignments too often does make it difficult to try to “perfect” anything. I hope you have the chance to stick with the 2s for awhile. They’re lucky to have you!

      Like

  2. It is hard to know that eventually something will come along that will replace Canvas, but hopefully that takes a few years. That’s one of the toughest things with technology is that it can change so quickly-which can be a pro and a con. Taking things one step at a time is the only way we can stop ourselves from feeling too overwhelmed. Thanks for sharing.

    Like

Comments are closed.